Latest Brews

Sweatpants & Books | Five Books for your Middle Schooler

By Heather Dyer

Five books your middle-school aged kid will love, but you’ll probably enjoy too!

Doctor Proctor’s Fart Powder (Doktor Proktor series Book 1)
by Jo Nesbo

Nesbo is best known for his adult mystery novels, but hits the sweet spot for middle schoolers with this hilarious book about two kids who help develop, well, a fart powder and begin to sell it to their friends. What could possibly go wrong?

The Genius Files: Mission Unstoppable 
by Dan Gutman

When brother and sister Coke and Pepsi (yes, that’s right) take a cross-country vacation with their parents, the genius siblings embark on an epic adventure that takes them to real destinations (readers are encouraged to look at maps and follow along) where they get into really sticky situations.

Pax 
by Sara Pennypacker

This is the beautifully told story of a boy named Peter and his pet fox who get separated, and Peter’s difficult journey back to the pet he loves. Heartwarming and heartbreaking at the same time. I adored it.

Secret Coders
by Gene Luen Yang

*Ssshh,* Don’t tell your kids that this graphic novel that is fun to read and visually appealing is actually teaching them binary language. It’s almost like learning!

The Alchemyst (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel, Book 1)
by Michael Scott

This is a great read-alike for Harry Potter fans – Nicholas Flamel is even mentioned in Harry Potter! This is book one of a series that will keep young readers glued to the pages, but not magically. Just through good writing.

Facebook Comments

comments

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*