Rx:  “Falling”

Prescribed by: T.J. Newman

Prescribed for: Fans of James Patterson and Lee Child and anyone who loved the movie “Speed!”

Side Effects:   Vertigo from all the twists and turns in the fast-paced plot.

Directions:  This is a heart-pounding debut from flight attendant turned novelist, T.J. Newman. With her insider’s knowledge of safety procedures in our post 9/11 world, and the interactions between flight attendants, pilots, and their passengers, it all makes for a chilling roller-coaster ride of a thriller.

Bill Hoffman is a seasoned, commercial airline pilot.  When he’s asked to fill in on a flight from Los Angeles to New York, he doesn’t think twice, even though it means missing an important game for his son and facing his wife’s disappointment.  Bill takes his job very seriously; there are 143 souls on this plane and it’s his job to make sure they make it to their final destination safe and sound.  Little does he know when he prepares the plane for take-off, his family’s lives are in danger and if he chooses to save them, he’s sentencing all 143 passengers on board the plane, and his crew, to death; terrorists want him to crash the plane or watch his family die. Bill doesn’t intend to let either tragedy happen.  He intends to save his family and land this plane safely.

Make sure your seat-belts are securely fastened and your tray tables are in the upright and locked position. The ride is going to get bumpy. Enjoy your flight!

Special Instructions: You’ll have a hard time putting this book down, so here’s a drink and snack combo to keep you awake and satisfied while you devour this thriller:

Spanish Coffee by A Couple Cooks

From the website: “It’s got a caramelized sugar rim and is spiked with Kahlua, rum, and orange liqueur…and topped with hand-whipped fluffy whipped cream! The burnt caramel, citrus, bitter coffee and sweet cream all combine into a literal symphony of flavor. You’ve gotta try this one!”

Pin It | Make It

Spanish Almond Nougat by Spain on a Fork

From the website: “This hard candy like almond nougat is made with just 4 ingredients, yet it has an amazing flavor and a richness I can’t describe.”

Pin It | Make It

Refill: https://www.indiebound.org/book/9781982177881

Julie Bond

Julie Bond is a voracious reader with eclectic tastes running the gamut from YA lit, to psychological suspense, and anything dog-related, of course. You can find her haunting her favorite San Francisco Bay Area indie bookstores. Email her at ObsessiveBookFanatic@gmail.com

Facebook 

Facebook Comments

comments