Rx:  “Finlay Donovan is Killing It”

Prescribed by: Elle Cosimano

Prescribed for: Fans of Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum novels and Sue Grafton’s scrappy heroine, Kinsey Millhone.

Side Effects:  Paper cuts from turning the pages too quickly and bleary eyes from staying up late to read one more chapter.

Directions:  The author really delivers in what we hope will be the first in a new series featuring this smart, funny, resourceful leading character, her ride-or-die best friend/nanny, a sympathetic (and adorable!) bartender and her hapless ex-husband.

Finlay Donovan is an author suffering from writer’s block who reluctantly agrees to a meeting with her agent at a local Panera.  While there discussing the plot of her imaginary-novel-in-progress, Finlay receives a mysterious note.  How could this over-worked and under-appreciated, divorced mother of two be mistaken for a contract killer? As Finlay tries to sort it all out, she soon learns just how brilliantly resourceful she really is, able to overcome her writer’s block and crank out a new novel, all while solving a mystery and taking back control of her own destiny. Finlay Donovan is far from a failure.  She is every woman trying to get it together and make a rewarding life for herself.

Special Instructions:

Finlay’s mother told her that “some dishes are impossible to screw up.”  Finlay took this as a challenge and manages to burn beyond recognition most of the dishes she prepares.  One of her epic culinary accidents involves a tuna casserole.  Hopefully this one is so easy (and delicious), even Finlay couldn’t mess it up.

Healthy Tuna Noodle Casserole from Choosing Real

From the website: “This healthy tuna noodle casserole recipe is an easy dinner idea that can be cooked, prepped and served in less than 1 hour. Since this tuna casserole recipe uses yogurt instead of mayonnaise or canned soups, this is a more healthy dinner idea for your family.”

Pin It | Make It

And when you are mistaken for a “hit mom,” a good vodka tonic might be your saving grace and just what you need to fortify your resolve.

Vodka Tonic from Occasional Cocktails

From the website: “Vodka tonic is perfect for sipping on in the summer or really any occasion. It’s a light and bubbly drink that most anyone can enjoy. This cocktail is also super easy to make.”

Pin It | Make It

Refill: https://www.indiebound.org/book/9781250241702

Julie Bond

Julie Bond is a voracious reader with eclectic tastes running the gamut from YA lit, to psychological suspense, and anything dog-related, of course. You can find her haunting her favorite San Francisco Bay Area indie bookstores. Email her at ObsessiveBookFanatic@gmail.com

Facebook 

Facebook Comments

comments