Rx: “One By One”

Prescribed by: Ruth Ware

Prescribed for: Fans of Agatha Christie, Louise Penny, and Tana French.

Side Effects: Chills and goosebumps from the frozen setting combined with a hair-raising story-line.

Directions: Ruth Ware has established herself as one of the premiere writers in the mystery/suspense genre and her newest novel does not disappoint. In a nod to Agatha Christie’s “And Then There Were None,” a group attending a corporate retreat for their tech startup finds themselves stranded in a chalet in the French Alps. Tensions run high during a buyout discussion and then attendees begin disappearing. Who will be left at Snoop when the week is over?

Topher and Eva head up Snoop, a European startup company that helps social media influencers to increase their following by allowing those followers to listen to the music the influencers are listening to in real time. They’ve set up a retreat in the French Alps to get all of the key players together to determine Snoop’s next big move. Not everyone has the same goal for Snoop, however, and their superficial camaraderie quickly turns contentious. While a day on the slopes might help cool raging tempers, an avalanche brings about a total game changer. Who has the most to gain as coworkers begin to disappear? Will there be anyone left for rescuers to find or will they all become victims, one way or another?

Special Instructions:

This novel is set in the French Alps. Anytime there is a rustic chalet and snow, I think of s’mores. So why not try these?

S’mores Energy Bites from The Two Peas and Their Pod

Pin It | Make It

And since the kids are back in school (one way or another), how about a cocktail to celebrate the season?

The Bourbon Back to School by Brazen Woman

Pin It | Make It

Refill: https://www.indiebound.org/book/9781501188817

Julie Bond

Julie Bond is a voracious reader with eclectic tastes running the gamut from YA lit, to psychological suspense, and anything dog-related, of course. You can find her haunting her favorite San Francisco Bay Area indie bookstores. Email her at ObsessiveBookFanatic@gmail.com

Facebook 

Facebook Comments

comments