Rx: Saving Meghan

Prescribed by: D.J. Palmer, best-selling author and son of the late author, Michael Palmer

Prescribed for: Fans of William Landay, John Lescroart, and Lisa Gardner

Side Effects: Bloodshot eyes from binge-reading the whole novel in one sitting.

Saving Meghan by D.J. Palmer

Directions:  Michael Palmer was well-known for his medical thrillers, and now his son will be too. This novel is action-packed, pitting husband against wife, and doctor against doctor, with everyone battling for the health and well-being of a teenage girl. Is this a case of Munchausen syndrome by proxy or does Meghan suffer from a real disease process, one that if left undiagnosed could end her young life? Saving Megan keeps you guessing right up until the last chapter.

Meghan Gerard is 15 years old and has spent a good portion of her young life in and out of hospitals. Her mother is, by all accounts, devoted to getting her daughter the best treatment possible.  Becky has spent her life researching her daughter’s symptoms and advocating for her care. Becky’s husband, Carl, thinks this has become an unhealthy obsession for them all.  Now, even Meghan’s doctors disagree about what is going on with her health.  Is this a case of Munchausen syndrome by proxy or is something much more insidious going on in the Gerard household? Told in alternating chapters from Meghan and Becky’s points of view, this is psychological suspense at its best.

Special Instructions: Oftentimes, Becky’s homemade chicken soup is the only thing that makes Meghan feel better. For Becky, often the only thing that makes her feel better is a cocktail.

The Best Chicken Soup You’ll Ever Eat by Ambitious Kitchen

The Best Chicken Soup You’ll Ever Eat by Ambitious Kitchen

Make it | Pin it

The Winter Gin and Tonic with Elderflower and Sloe by Little Sugar Snaps

The Winter Gin and Tonic with Elderflower and Sloe by Little Sugar Snaps 

Make it | Pin it

Refill: here

Julie Bond

Julie Bond is a voracious reader with eclectic tastes running the gamut from YA lit, to psychological suspense, and anything dog-related, of course. You can find her haunting her favorite San Francisco Bay Area indie bookstores. Email her at ObsessiveBookFanatic@gmail.com

Facebook 

Facebook Comments

comments