Rx:  “The Night Before”

Prescribed by: Wendy Walker

Prescribed for: Fans of Gillian Flynn, A.J. Finn, and classic whodunits.

Side Effects:   Dizziness from the twists and turns in the plot right up until the last page.

Directions:  This novel is the perfect distraction from holiday stress as it is now available in mass market paperback, making it easy to carry in your bag as you stand in line and wait your turn. It may, however, keep you up at night reading just one more chapter. You’ve been warned.

Laura, Rosie, Joe, and Gabe have been friends their whole lives, growing up as neighbors on Deer Hill Lane.  Laura’s life changed the night her boyfriend was brutally murdered and questions still remain about Laura’s role in his death.  She never seems to be able to escape her past, even with the help of a compassionate psychologist.  When her latest lover dumps her via text, she returns home to her sister, brother-in-law, and nephew to find solace and to pick up the pieces of her life.  She starts anew by planning a date via an online dating site.  She heads out on her blind date filled with mild trepidation and a dose of self-loathing, but remains hopeful, bolstered by her family and friends.  When she doesn’t return from the date, however, her family scrambles to figure out who she met and what happened to keep her from coming home.  Nothing is as it seems.  Did something happen to Laura? Or did Laura happen to someone else?

Special Instructions: Tis the season and this yummy apple cider can be enjoyed with or without rum.  And these macarons are the perfect treat to satisfy your sweet tooth:

Keto Apple Cider by Tina Krug

From the website: “Treat yourself to a cozy mug of Keto apple cider! Plenty of apple flavor, warm spices, and optional rum make this easy drink the perfect fall indulgence.”

Pin It | Make It

Hot Chocolate Macarons by Pies and Tacos

From the website: “These are the ultimate winter macarons! Chocolate shells are dipped in chocolate, topped with mini marshmallows, and filled with a delicious Hot Chocolate Buttercream.”

Pin It | Make It

Refill: https://www.indiebound.org/book/9781250801951

Julie Bond

Julie Bond is a voracious reader with eclectic tastes running the gamut from YA lit, to psychological suspense, and anything dog-related, of course. You can find her haunting her favorite San Francisco Bay Area indie bookstores. Email her at ObsessiveBookFanatic@gmail.com

Facebook 

Facebook Comments

comments