Rx:  “The Summer Place”

Prescribed by: Jennifer Weiner

Prescribed for: Fans of Celeste Ng’s “Everything I Never Told You” and Liane Moriarty’s “Big Little Lies”.

Side Effects:  Sunburn; don’t forget to reapply sunscreen regularly as you devour this novel from the comfort of your beach chair.

Directions:  An engaging, absorbing, unputdownable, novel filled with the drama, humor, and messy feelings that are part of family life

Sarah’s stepdaughter has announced she is getting married to her pandemic boyfriend in just three weeks time, having already set the wheels in motion with Sarah’s mother who owns the family’s beach house on Cape Cod. Everyone in Sarah’s family has a secret, including Sarah, and some of these secrets could not only derail the wedding plans, but could have unforeseen consequences for other family members. Just how the author brings these secrets to light in alternating chapters, from different characters’ perspectives, propelling this novel to its satisfying conclusion, is simply magical.  This is a story of love and forgiveness and the ties that bind us together as family

Special Instructions: This novel is the perfect choice for your summer book club or just a gathering of friends spending a week together at the beach.  A summer charcuterie board on the table and a light, fruity cocktail in hand, and you are all set.

Summer Grazing Charcuterie Board by Pizzazzerie

Pin It | Make It

Watermelon Vodka Soda by Herbs & Flour

Pin It | Make It

Refill: https://www.indiebound.org/book/9781501133572

Julie Bond

Julie Bond is a voracious reader with eclectic tastes running the gamut from YA lit, to psychological suspense, and anything dog-related, of course. You can find her haunting her favorite San Francisco Bay Area indie bookstores. Email her at ObsessiveBookFanatic@gmail.com

Facebook 

Facebook Comments

comments