Rx:  “Things We Do In The Dark”

Prescribed by: Jennifer Hillier

Prescribed for: Fans of Laura Lippman, Ruth Ware, and Gillian Flynn.

Side Effects:  Bloodshot eyes from staying up way past your bedtime to read just one more chapter and a racing heart from all of the twists and turns in this clever novel.

Directions:  If you are looking for an intelligently written, thoroughly absorbing suspense novel, then look no further.

Paris Peralta is accused of murdering her much older husband.  The case seems straightforward since she was found standing over him in the bathroom with a straight razor in her hand and he had recently changed his will, leaving his substantial fortune to her. Things, however, are not as they seem. Paris does indeed have something to hide, and a past she’s tried very hard to escape.  Growing up in the shadow of her unstable and abusive mother, sent to live with relatives who didn’t want her and were openly hostile toward her, and then scrabbling to support herself, ultimately creating a persona that kept people at arm’s length. Paris has worked hard to recreate herself, vowing to never go back to being afraid. Now she’s terrified that her past will catch up with her, leaving her with nothing left to lose.

Special Instructions: This novel moves quickly and deftly back and forth between the past and the present, building in the details of who Paris really is.  It’s refreshing to see a Filipina main character and have the Tagalog language used in conjunction with the supporting characters in her family, ultimately lending a sense of truth and realness to their dialogue. These classic recipes from the Philippines are easy to make and pair nicely with this novel:

Buko Salad Drink by Simply Bakings

From the website: Buko Salad Drink (Young Coconut Salad Drink) is a delicious combination of Filipinos’ popular buko salad and buko juice recipe that is super duper easy to make. It’s mainly made of young coconut strips, nata de coco, sago, sweetened milk and young coconut water.”

Pin It | Make It

Bibingka – Filipino Coconut Cake by Zestuous

From the website: “My favorite Filipino dessert by far is Bibingka. It’s a thin, unfrosted cake made with sweet rice flour and cream of coconut.”

Pin It | Make It

Refill: https://www.indiebound.org/book/9781250763167

Julie Bond

Julie Bond is a voracious reader with eclectic tastes running the gamut from YA lit, to psychological suspense, and anything dog-related, of course. You can find her haunting her favorite San Francisco Bay Area indie bookstores. Email her at ObsessiveBookFanatic@gmail.com

Facebook 

Facebook Comments

comments